Skip to content

Brixton ticket sale complaints

May 11, 2009

A number of users have been in contact after missing out on tickets due to the seemingly chaotic sales procedure. (Full disclosure: I picked up two tickets successfully so have no personal gripe). However, Fantomas No More a long-time fan and blogger left this comment on the site and I feel it merits a guest post slot.

“Well another fine mess for us all to moan about.

Here is the crack, I HAVE download tickets, I know my way around a computer and know a trick or two but the pre-sale for Brixton tickets to Download holders did not happen as far as I am aware. With regards to the regular sale, I was waiting, waiting and waiting and even waited some more but the tickets did not become available on 3 sites that I was using on the day.

Typically we have been fu**ed over again.

Any of you guys read this from the band take a look at http://www.getmein.com thay have (at the time of this rant) 39 tickets available ranging from £126.50 (192.69. US$) to £198.00 (301.00 US$)

Guess what!! yes its a TICKETMASTER company.

Any of you know me I am a huge fan of Faith No More, Mike Patton in general going back to 1988 when I first saw them.

I will not pay this price for these tickets, nor would any true fan.

My advise to anyone reading this would be to get a day ticket from Download at £65 per ticket plus the crappy “booking fee” of £6 and enjoy the day.

If anyone from the band is reading, sort this out, you don’t need this kind of promotion, make the tickets yourself, add £5 to each one and sell them through Ipecac or Koolarrow.

Just my thoughts.”

8 Comments leave one →
  1. hexagram permalink
    May 11, 2009 8:46 am

    The download pre-sale DID happen and i got my tickets on the thursday, its a flawed system and everyone knows ticketmaster suck but theres not alot anyone can do because they own a stake in most of the venues or have a deal with them and so bands cant just by-pass them completely. Take for example the Trent Reznor blog earlier in the year about it.

  2. Chris permalink
    May 11, 2009 3:50 pm

    I would love to see Faith No More work closer with Ipecac since IT IS Patton’s own label…they would be better suited there…honestly, I live in the States, so all of this whining really doesn’t elicit a lot of sympathy from me, but, I know the feeling of being screwed by Ticketmaster and Live Nation…look, enjoy this whole thing while it lasts over there in Europe becuase we here in America are fucking losing it waiting for SOME kind of announcement in regards to shows here!! haha

  3. May 11, 2009 5:36 pm

    I live in the USA and bought tickets to see them at the Brixton Academy and also the Kindl-Buehne Wuhlheide in Berlin. The two NON-Festival dates I could make. I wasnt able to buy tickets to Brixton even though I was online and ready to go but I guess clicking the “buy tickets now” 5 seconds after it opened up was too late!! So right away I went on eBay and there was a pair of tickets selling. I knew the price was gonna go up soon so I clicked “buy it now” and I paid $100 US Dollars for each and received my tickets! I also received my Berlin Tickets that same day in the mail, I paid only $50 US Dollars for each. I got Standing but I’d rather have Circle tickets I think to watch the show seated on the balcony. Or are those seats not like that? Either way I am excited!!

    • monaghanunited permalink*
      May 12, 2009 8:36 am

      Cheers for the comment Shane. I have two Circle and I may be willing to swap for two Standing so stay in touch.

  4. May 11, 2009 7:15 pm

    Good for you Hexagram, nice to see someone with tickets, I hope you enjoy it as much as I would have…

    Chris,

    I know you lot in the states have not got any confirmed dates yet but they will come, give it time. There was a hell of a lot of support for the More in the UK from the early days through till 98, can you blame them from coming here first.
    I am surprised that they have not anounced any Australian dates yet either as they were big in Aus as well.

    Good look

  5. May 12, 2009 12:10 am

    yeah pretty sure download presale happened cos my mate scored heaps of tix to brix through it.

    i assume the whole download only presale was a condition that download set to allow FNM to play brixton

  6. Hansel permalink
    May 12, 2009 3:48 pm

    I missed out on tickets that morning too. I was ready to through my laptop out the window i was so annoyed. Stupid system.

  7. Chris permalink
    May 12, 2009 3:50 pm

    Fantomas No More,

    I hear ya on the UK and how they had massive support there! I wasn’t surprised when I saw they’d be heading over there first as a long time follower of their career…I think it’s exciting, but, nerve-wracking all at the same time haha I hope you guys give Faith No More a hell of a time overseas so that they’ll keep this thing up and hit Australia, South America, and then maybe North America!

Leave a Reply

