Skip to content

Links for a day…(vol. 17): Moscow update and setlist and more

June 30, 2009
  • Lots of FNM Moscow reviews to start. As the Google Translate from Russian is so ropey I have eschewed the usual sample quotes but all seem positive. One from KM.ru here and Gazeta here and leading news agency Interfax here.
  • Here’s the Moscow setlist via setlistfm. I’ll be updating all the Last Words on this week’s gigs early next week when a) the first chapter of the Second Coming is over and b) I return from Rock Werchter (I know FNM aren’t playing but I’d booked my tickets, flights and hotel before the reunion was announced).
  • Elsewhere Stubbadub has unearthed an amusing Australian interview with Mike P and Billy from 1995.
  • I’ve also been trawling the archives and stumbled upon an unusual interview from Joyzine with Jim Martin from the early post-Mosley days. Sample quote: “Q: How do you typically work out a song? JIM: It works best if we give each other tapes, but it’s different every time. A lot of times, I’ll start off with a song and I’ll have no idea how it’s going to turn out. There’s one song on this LP, “Epic,” that they had all worked out, pretty much, and I didn’t know what the fuck I was going to do with it. So we were having practice and I said, “OK, just play it, I’m just going to jam.” And that’s how I figured out what to play; it just came to me. I just played it!”
  • Fast-forwarding to 2008 and here’s a The Quietus feature on the ultimate FNM mixtape. Let us know your’s in the comment and I’ll put together a feature in the near future.
  • The Moscow poster should be on sale soon though it is not on the Secret Serpents Store page yet.
One Comment leave one →
  1. Yulia permalink
    June 30, 2009 3:59 pm

    Gazeta’s review is not quite positive: in the end it says that FNM kinda hustle on audience’s nostalgia.

Leave a Reply

