Skip to content

Faith No More in Prague

August 17, 2009

Hello from the Tesla Arena in Prague. Its warm and its packed. Faith No More 2.0 and Ms Faith No More are sitting (!) to the right of the stage. Joy Division “Isolation” serving as the familar warm-up music.

Firewater take to the stage. Quite like this band after seeing them at Paleo in Switzerland last year. One Roddy Bottum is watching from just in front of us.

Good show from Firewater. Muted response though: the bongos and trumpet not what the FNM fans expected. TV on the Radio on the PA now.

The now familiar opening notes are greeted by a huge ovation.

Mike P in the red suit with subtle shades and cane look.

Its so hot that all bar the inscrutable Jon have shed their jackets.

Very slippery on stage. Patton nearly went arse over tit twice during LoS.

Praha! Everybody ok is Patton’s first spoken words and a big thank you for Firewater.

We get a verse of Evidence in Portuguese.

Big band discussion after SYD and we’re into LCoS. Vertigo!!!

Love the tone of Jon H’s guitar in Easy. And the breakdown in Midlife Crisis is the Russian snippet they have previously played – Timelord (?).
Roddy back and bantering to crowd prior to KFOAD.
Mike goes up close and personal with the audience during Just a Man, getting them to sing a long into the mic in Czech.
Mike has just pissed off the whole crowd by saying their football team sucks before Ole Ole on the megaphone…Chariots.
Second encore preceded by Patton: Obviously there’s nothing else happening in Praha tonight. He had went off earlier to “Seriously, Praha: insanem”

Setlist:

Reunited

From out of Nowhere

Land of Sunshine

Caffeine

Evidence.

Surprise You’re Dead

Last Cup of Sorrow

Chinese Arithmetic (Poker Face intro)

Easy

Midlife Crisis

Epic

RV

Gentle Art of Making Enemies

King for a Day

Ashes to Ashes

Be Aggressive

Just a Man

Encore
Chariots of Fire/Stripsearch

Digging the Grave

Encore 2
Pristina

21 Comments leave one →
  1. Amanda permalink
    August 17, 2009 6:05 pm

    jealous!

  2. tbeest permalink
    August 17, 2009 6:25 pm

    Have fun!

  3. hoggskin permalink
    August 17, 2009 8:39 pm

    Only Patton can piss off a crowd and get away with it!! Ya gotta love him!

  4. August 17, 2009 9:50 pm

    photos from bucharest concert: http://www.sergiumihaescu.com or on http://www.bringthenoise.ro, thx

  5. tomass permalink
    August 17, 2009 11:13 pm

    … don’t think mike could piss off the crowd in prague … cause the sound (his mic) was so bad that it was from 80% impossible to understand what he said … otherwise concert okay! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. gooongadze permalink
    August 18, 2009 8:26 am

    “The concert of the year” in Budapest:

    …with Mike craczy performance.

  7. Tereza permalink
    August 18, 2009 10:07 am

    Iยดm on concert in Tesla Area, it was the best….And I hope that it will further …

  8. Marie permalink
    August 18, 2009 2:01 pm

    It was a great adventure…

  9. Miss Chievous permalink
    August 18, 2009 3:45 pm

    Well, I know that some friends of mine were actually there and… ohmyfreakingbloodygod I REALLY WISH I WAS THERE !! Wooohoo !! I can’t wait 11 more days till their gig in Paris !! Yeepeee !!! ๐Ÿ˜€

  10. Kubass permalink
    August 18, 2009 4:22 pm

    I liked a much Patton’s last year’s gig in Prague with the italian Zu trio. It was insane and beutiful. And yesterday!!! – it was like the dream came true. I was too young when they played in Prague at the end of 90s so this was on top of my “wishlist of gigs that will never happen”. And it happened. I’m so glad!

    Thanks!

  11. Mirek permalink
    August 18, 2009 6:04 pm

    It was great show. Faith no more: You are best!!! Thank you for this great experience ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Martin - Czech (Prague concert) permalink
    August 18, 2009 7:40 pm

    Hi
    I know I will repeat what was said here many times, but I have to. The Prague concert was one of the greatest music experience in my life. To see the favourite band of my teenage period after so long time and meet so many old friends was really incredible. Iยดve enjoyed whole the gig…jumping…hands and head shaking…singing all the hits :o)….simply GREAT !

    THANK YOU GUYS !

    as you say…this was the best party….Iยดve been to :o)

  13. Lukas80 permalink
    August 19, 2009 7:02 am

    Prague was so cool…..
    Here is the Czech blog dedicated to Mike Patton:
    http://screamofmoonchild.blogspot.com/

    • monaghanunited permalink*
      August 19, 2009 9:31 pm

      Nice blog that though I don’t know any Czech. Will link out to your Prague piece when I do the Last Word pieces in a few weeks.

  14. Miss Chievous permalink
    August 19, 2009 4:15 pm

    I will see that even though I don’t understand czech at all. It could be fun, I’m doing it for Mikey !!! ๐Ÿ˜€

  15. Tom "ZAK" Wolf permalink
    August 20, 2009 7:27 am

    I was at Prague’s gig and it was amazing. I couldn’t wait to see FNM for the first time in my life. It was like a dream came through. One of the best gigs I have ever seen. Patton killed it like a king. Much respect to the band. I’m very proud they’re back. Hope to see them again.

  16. August 20, 2009 8:54 am

    I was there:)I had a sitting place but I went completely crazy, screamed, jumped, finaly burst into tears. Oh my I want more, more, more ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. August 20, 2009 3:38 pm

    Hey it was a great show and the aftershow meeting was also cool. I’m happy to meet such nice people, FNM 2.0 blog crew counting among them.

  18. August 24, 2009 8:00 am

    Does anyone have some photos from that gig? I’d be very gratefull ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

