Skip to content

Faith No More in Edinburgh video and set list and reviews

August 26, 2009

First reviews now filtering in as well. See below.

Opening video (via Steve in comments)

Closing video
Pristina (with Patton shirtless for all the ladies – and some men)

Reviews
From BBC Scotland here. Sample quotes: “Opening with the John Barry epic “Midnight Cowboy” and quickly following it up with crowd favourites “From Out of Nowhere” and “Be Aggressive”, the band showed that time had definitely not taken the edge off their performance and Patton’s phenomenal vocal range has lost none of its power.”
And: “Towards the end of the set Patton invited an overjoyed girl to join him on stage for a duet, in which she duly took part. Holding the audience together with ease, all arms aloft, Patton’s exchange about sweaty Edinburgh armpits led to a swift lick to his armpit by girl, who was swiftly despatched back to the crowd with an, “nice knowing ya lady, now get out of here”.

Photos
The venerable BBC also have a photo gallery here.

Set list:
(via Darren in comments)

  1. Midnight Cowboy
  2. From Out Of Nowhere
  3. Be Aggressive
  4. Caffeine
  5. Evidence
  6. Surprise! You’re Dead!
  7. Last Cup of Sorrow
  8. Malpractice
  9. Easy
  10. Midlife Crisis
  11. Epic
  12. I Started a Joke
  13. The Gentle Art of Making Enemies
  14. King for a Day
  15. Ashes to Ashes
  16. Just a Man
  17. Mark Bowen
  18. Chariots of Fire / Stripsearch
  19. Pristina
43 Comments leave one →
  1. Darren Jones permalink
    August 26, 2009 10:31 am

    Morning people – set list from what i can recall from last nights gig in edunburgh – travelled from newcastle to see em then straight back so a long night , but one of the best gigs I have ever seen – great little old school venue , like somewhere they played on the real thing tour when I saw them on that tour in 1989 and 1990.
    Red hot too – think the band felt the heat too , judging by the fact Patton got his man boobs out !
    Patton on top form last night – both voice and humour wise .
    Midnight Cowboy
    From Out Of Nowhere
    Be Aggressive
    Caffeine
    Evidence
    Surprise! You’re Dead!
    Last Cup of Sorrow
    Malpractice
    Easy
    Midlife Crisis ( with the eastenders theme tune ending . . . yes indeed )
    Epic
    I Started a Joke
    The Gentle Art of Making Enemies
    King for a Day
    Ashes to Ashes
    Just a Man
    Mark Bowen
    Chariots of fire / Stripsearch
    Pristina

    • monaghanunited permalink*
      August 26, 2009 11:32 am

      Cheers Darren. Great set list

    • jojo permalink
      August 26, 2009 5:32 pm

      Fabulous gig but the sound was pretty terrible, great to see such a big band playing a relatively small venue.

  2. Scottie Boy permalink
    August 26, 2009 11:05 am

    Brixton and download were excellent but it was good to see them in a smaller venue again… Like the Network gig in 1990. ‘Re-united’ was dropped and replaced with a superb ‘midnight cowboy’. It all kicked off after that with ‘From out of nowhere’ and ‘Caffeine’
    Strong set-list with 2 en-cores. I’ve a load of bruises and serious tinnitus! It was like an oven in there, hence Patton is practically in the buff! Superb gig, get back in the studio!!

  3. Steve permalink
    August 26, 2009 11:32 am

    Here is the opening…what a gig..worth the wait!
    I hope someone recorded this..great fun all night from the crowd and band..Mike was in top form with his banter as well!

    • Nelly permalink
      August 26, 2009 11:43 am

      Don’t think Mike and the sound man got on well – he spent the whole night “asking” for his monitor to be turned up, sometimes leaving the stage to try and sort it out. Even during the encore’s it still wasn’t right. Mike losing it is a scary sight!

      Band were super tight and played all the songs I’d hoped for – hope they get some new material out and tour again.

      Next time they should play the Edinburgh Picture House though – better venue and the sound is way superior.

  4. August 26, 2009 11:43 am

    Right its time to party people, the FNM are back in full force!!!

    By god was that a good set, you could have recorded and released it without much editing. the first song Midnight Cowboy was like it came directly from the record, yep!!! the first song. Eastenders twice, one in the middle of Midlife Crisis, the other…. well I can’t remember. as for the setlist I cant remember that either. A few usual suspects appeared, Epic, Easy, Surprise You’re Dead, Ashes To Ashes etc. Patton going on about the humidity and asking if we would stand up for Billy Gould so he could have our seat on a bus. Patton also got some girl up on stage to help him sing Just A Man, who eventually ended up sniffing/licking his armpit I think….

    To round it all off I was outside having a smoke and Puffy appeared so I got a photo of myself with him, who says smoking is bad!!!!

    I have seen them quite a few times over the years and I have gotta say they won’t get much better than this. You people in Dublin are in for a great show tonight.

    Enjoy

  5. August 26, 2009 11:51 am

    Lucky boys who get an indoor gig instead of an outdoor festival one… Well, outdoor is still better than nothing (for those in the US), but a good venue is always better than a big outdoor stage with crappy sound…

    Shit, I just can’t fucking wait.

  6. jason permalink
    August 26, 2009 11:58 am

    wonderful show…… and I have to say the best security I have ever seen at a concert… let the lads in the crowd have their fun, but if it was to rowdy puta stop to it…. big cheers to the security…

    I am from New Orleans, but came all the way from Djibouti in Africa just for this show…. will also be at the Dublin show tomorrow…. what a great time. I think FNM aere better this tour than they were the last time i saw them in 1996! If anyone needs a free ticket to the Dublin show I will have one… the only negative to this show to me were the vulture like ticket scalpers outside before.. fuck that… I have one extra ticket and I want to give it away to a like minded fan of the band..

    • monaghanunited permalink*
      August 26, 2009 11:58 am

      Great effort. Djibouti!!

    • Sara permalink
      August 29, 2009 12:52 am

      What an absolutely fantastic, sweaty gig – I had the best time!

      I was up the front for the first half hour or so but due to the heat and some very “enthusiastic” people had to be lifted over the barrier to relative safety before I had the life completely squeezed out of me! I think all the bruises must the internal because I still ache 3 days later.

      It was a brilliant set list but I would have also liked to have heard Digging the Grave. It wasn’t played at Brixton or Download either but I was hopeful for this one! I didn’t notice anything wrong with the sound but when it’s FNM, I rarely notice anything bad.

      I would just like to thank Jason (New Orleans, above) for being one of my many protectors at the front and that it was great to meet him and Whitney. I hope Dublin was just as good for you 🙂

    • Anna permalink
      August 29, 2009 8:47 pm

      Hey Jason & Whitney! It’s me: Anna from Austria!
      It’s nice to see your comments here on this website!!!
      What a gig!!! Fantastic setlist (but I missed The Real Thing)
      You say the security was great… I fully confirm this because they saved me out of the crown 🙂 OMG I had a really great time!!!!
      How was Dublin??? I’m sure it was a blast!!!
      I’m just bussy loading some vids from the concert onto youtube… I will let you know when it’s finish…

  7. mark permalink
    August 26, 2009 11:58 am

    8 hour round trip, worth every second of it! The first eastenders snippet was just after malpractice. The band and the crowd were LOUD. Patton talking about selling his arse for music was hilarious, as was telling that girl “you’ve had you’re time, now get off the stage!” after singing to her for just a man.

    Best band on the planet. Seeing them again in leeds, don’t know how it’s going to live up to the intensity of last night, the corn exchange is a tiny venue for a band like them!

  8. Chris permalink
    August 26, 2009 12:13 pm

    Mike and Roddy took turns to talk about how old they are getting, Mike said he hated “dressing up for gigs” and that he looked like “a three dollar note”, haha.

    Off the scale good, seen them a few times and this was probably the best ever. They all got along great, the break has served them well, smiles all round and Patton is still one of the coolest frontmen alive.
    Sound setup was brilliant, yes Patton had issues with his side but out to us it was mixed so well.
    Evidence last verse was in Spanish.
    Surprise! You’re Dead! was the absolute shit.
    Malpractise was the other Eastenders laced song, just after halfway through the track, hilarious tbh.

    Hot as hell, and the temperature was too.
    They played out of their skins, gods, legends, the vikings, the queen vic.

  9. holdaways permalink
    August 26, 2009 1:30 pm

    Flat out awesome, agree band was in top form inbetween too. “Alright knobbos!” … “We’re really old. Would you give Billy Gould your seat on the bus?”

    That vid of Midnight Cowboy/Out of Nowhere is brilliant. Almost wet my pants during Epic. King for a Day…Gentle Art…Just A Man…ooooh. And kinda liked ending on Pristina.

  10. Darren Jones permalink
    August 26, 2009 2:10 pm

    By the way any idea if anyone knows what music was on before FNM came on , before Isolation by Joy Division , it was well strange !!!

  11. August 26, 2009 2:26 pm

    Darren – Les Fleurs was played before they came on – not sure if it was the Minnie Riperton original version or the 4Hero one used in a recent Baileys ad (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GgyEEf-0tfo&feature=related). Is that the one you meant?

    • monaghanunited permalink*
      August 26, 2009 2:30 pm

      Yes they have played the 4Hero version and Joy Division Isolation and a few others as well before each of the standalone gigs I’ve been at.

  12. Darren Jones permalink
    August 26, 2009 2:39 pm

    it was before minnie ripperton , had loads of tribal drums in it , I’m only asking as it was excellent and want to get a hold of it:-)

  13. Jamie permalink
    August 26, 2009 3:36 pm

    fantastic set list, but will we here in the States ever get to enjoy it? Seriously come on you guys we buy your albums and love your music too!

  14. DaveFNM permalink
    August 26, 2009 4:14 pm

    I may be wrong but wasn’t it Mark Bowen then Just a Man? Maybe my heads mixed up with how awesome it all was but I thought Mark Bowen was the first encore song.

    • Scottie Boy permalink
      August 26, 2009 4:25 pm

      Yes your right enough! Mark Bowen, just a man then second encore stripsearch feat. Chariots followed by Pristina. Can’t remember if Gentle art and king for a day were back to back.

  15. Darren Jones permalink
    August 26, 2009 5:15 pm

    Spot on , it was Battles , cheers for that

    And yeah forgot about Just a man !!!

  16. Col permalink
    August 26, 2009 6:06 pm

    What a gig, was sooo hot at the front. Also travelled from N East but I’d have walked it if necessary.
    Top band, top show, top nite.

    Isolation was on before they came on, but it wasn’t joy division – dunno who it was tho.

  17. Steve permalink
    August 26, 2009 6:48 pm

    other videos I have found from one of the best gigs I have had the pleasure to be at

  18. DaveFNM permalink
    August 26, 2009 7:04 pm

    Not sure if he has posted here but someone has been posting good quality videos all day long on Youtube – http://www.youtube.com/user/sniftiemacsnert If he is reading this, you are a god amongst men sir! Thank you very much, will help preserve the memory of a fantastic gig.

  19. Johnny_r permalink
    August 26, 2009 8:06 pm

    Fantastic gig, made me feel like a teenager again. Any chance of doing an FNM in Scotland gig list similar to the Ireland one? Great website anyway

  20. Michael Bolger permalink
    August 26, 2009 9:30 pm

    I love the Reunited cover but I’m glad to see that they are mixing it up so the shows don’t become too predictable.

    That’s the double-edged sword of living in the 21st century. Back in the 90’s you could get away with playing the same set every night but now with youtube everyone is already familiar with your show before you’ve even stepped foot into their country. Forces you to be more creative.

    And how wild would it be if they opened their set with Another Body Murdered, as a duet with whatever guest rapper was in town that night? That really would be a curve-ball opening song from out of nowhere.

  21. ThePetro permalink
    August 27, 2009 6:00 am

    Can anyone tell me what a “Nabbo” is?

  22. Col permalink
    August 27, 2009 6:39 am

    It was Nobbo wasn’t it?

  23. Ken-D permalink
    August 27, 2009 4:14 pm

    This is It!! – The Opening video is sooooooooo Emotional….. my gooseflesh is covered in salty liquid…. (Very glad they finally skipped the Reunited…)

  24. ThePetro permalink
    August 27, 2009 7:26 pm

    Col, your right, it is “Nobbo”.

    This is what the urban dictionary says. Guess I’m not that hip. 😎

    “a completely useless person, one who can’t function properly without fucking things up”

    At the download festival Patton said, “and fortune is smiling upon you nobbo” during Land of Sunshine. I just figured that Nobbo was the promoter.

  25. Paul M permalink
    August 27, 2009 7:50 pm

    Left work on Tues late afternoon, Manchester to Edinburgh, train back the next day. Probably gonna get sacked. I don’t care. I was a little too young when they were last here. This gig was everything I hoped it would be, and more. Yeah I cried a bit :o)

    Contemplating paying tout prices for Leeds on Sunday… but I can’t see it being as… emotional as seeing them in that packed, sweaty, and quite scary venue. The sound was terrible though, not sure why people are praising it!

    First Scottish gigging experience too, ace. I like the all-round bars. I didn’t like getting caught up in a scrap tho!

    Finally… you can tell they’re not doing it for the money, they really, really seemed to enjoy it.

  26. August 27, 2009 9:21 pm

    I was at the Corn Exchange show, 2 days later my ears are still ringing. The sound at times certainly resembled a shrill. Overwhelming, but I think it really depends on where you were standing.
    I was there with my Dad, he’s older than those ‘old gits’ on stage (he’s 64), and even he said it was good!! High praise indeed!

  27. August 28, 2009 8:02 am

    I’m so jelaous I wanted to be there. You’re lucky people form Edinburgh, you had a very special gig 🙂

  28. Whit permalink
    August 28, 2009 9:36 am

    Edinburgh show was pretty great. The set list was a little shorter than I’d expected. Dublin was infinitely a better show in every way. Oh my god it was amazing. I can’t wait to see them again.

    • Sara permalink
      August 29, 2009 12:59 am

      Just had to cut in to say – Hi Whit – as I said I would!

  29. August 28, 2009 12:29 pm

    I envy people from Dublin also 🙂

  30. andrea permalink
    August 28, 2009 8:44 pm

    The gig was awesome (if you don’t count the fact that I couldn’t see the stage for all the tall guys) … but was all the better for meeting Billy & Mike (and Al Murray) outside. Billy signed my ticket & let me warm my hands up on him cause we stood out in the cold for an hour & then Mike gave me a peck on the cheek & posed for a pic. My life is complete! A gig to remember.

    • Ken-D permalink
      August 28, 2009 10:09 pm

      aawww…U should have climbed upon someone’s shoulder… – ..but a Warm Honoured Meeting indeed! 🙂

  31. Doogie permalink
    August 29, 2009 9:13 pm

    Wow….that was the sweatiest, hotest gig I have ever been to. Having said that it kinda added to the whole atmosphere. I first saw FNM in Allentown Pennsylvania when workingin the US one summer in 1990 having bought the real thing album prior to flying to the US. I remember Mike doing a cover of Modonna’s “Vogue” during the gig which was in a tiny music hall even smaller than the Corn Exchange. Seeing them again 19 years later in the Corn Exchange brought it all back….and these guys just get better with age. The gig was everything I had hoped for and more. The set list covered just about all their previous albums so I had no cause for complaint. I had forgotten how much louder inside gigs are compared to stadium do’s. My ears were ringing for days afterwards. Mike is one hell of a front man and can transfix the audience. I guess he decided not to stage dive at the Corn Exchange due to the heat as it he would have simply slipped to the floor. I’m kinda sad now that the whole thing is over but yearn for some new material from Mike and the band. They all seemed to be having a laugh and if it was really to do with money surely they would have selected larger venues to maximise profits. I am hoping to catch Mike in his various guises in the future at some point but will hold on to my memories of the Corn Exchange for life. Run DMC? Baw Bag!

  32. Anna permalink
    September 1, 2009 7:42 pm

    Hey Guys! I’ve uploades some vids from the Edinburgh gig…
    at the beginning I was right up in front but after a while the pressure was getting too high and I was pulled out of the crowd… as you can notice the vids were just made from one side of the stage…
    http://www.youtube.com/AnakaStone

Leave a Reply

