Skip to content

US tour update and more

September 16, 2009

UPDATE:
This post has got a lot of attention in recent days and some of the reaction has been OTT. My take on it – without speaking to anyone – is that FNM are more likely than not to play US dates. Gezarie’s initial comment was only her reading of the tour at the current moment – i.e. that no dates have been planned or scheduled. In hindsight, I perhaps should not have published it as a guest post (and apologies Gezarie if I hung you out to dry) but this is a blog and not a site dealing in official band news so we can trade in speculation and that is all this was. Otherwise, cheers for all the comments and lets hope the US tour does come off.

Gezarie’s clarification

NEVER said this categorically wont happen! I feel like this might be a bit of an overreaction. NAN is correct in saying that this was only what I was told AT THIS POINT IN TIME but you all should realise that nothing is set in stone with this tour. I have no possible way of knowing what will happen for the rest of the tour, any more than any of you. I think that it should be made very clear that all news must come directly from the BAND, and from the band only. My word isnt gospel!

I was merely suggesting that if it were possible for some fans to head to mexico and they can and are dedicated enough than they should.

I sincerely apologise to have cause such a ruckus.

Also I should add that I spoke up without having all the facts. Bill told me personally that they ARE working on US dates but it is tricky and not just from a money perspective.

So cheer up US!
But while you’re passionate and worked up, contact promoters! Use the link that Michael Bolgor posted. Write emails. Make it happen.

Original post

Some comments are worth posts in their own rights and our friend Gezarie’s almost always are so here goes:

Australia is confirmed with tickets on sale for Soundwave Festival across the country from this Friday. It is a one day festival held in Brisbane, Sydney, Melbourne, Perth and Adelaide throughout Feb and beginning of March.

To U.S and Canadian fans, I spoke with the band, with their road manager and have been in touch with Greg from Ipecac. They are not planning any US dates. This is not due to a disdain for America at all though! Simply the US offers are not there. Or not at this stage anyway.

If any of you can make it to the Australian or South American shows I would recommend it. There will be non festival shows held in Sydney, Melbourne and Brisbane.

I hope to see some of you lovely people there!

Oh and Bobby B, tickets for some of the other SA dates like for Rio have already been on sale. Really feel for you US fans, I hope that in the end you guys get some shows late in the game

58 Comments
  1. Blansten permalink
    September 16, 2009 10:38 pm

    LAAAAAAAAAAAAAAME.

  2. wilson permalink
    September 16, 2009 10:54 pm

    Well I think this was the worst news I heard this week. Come to NJ!

  3. Markus permalink
    September 16, 2009 10:54 pm

    I don’t buy it. They have to play at least a Bay Area date…… right?

  4. Jon permalink
    September 16, 2009 11:15 pm

    Well, I’m glad I was fortunate enough to score tickets to the Dublin show and have the ability to fly over there for the weekend! Greatest concert I’ve ever been to!

    • Whit permalink
      September 17, 2009 6:37 pm

      Jon, I can’t remember. Which one were you? Columbus or Pittsburgh? I feel the same way. So lucky to have flown over for the show.

      • Jon permalink
        September 17, 2009 11:15 pm

        Actually I don’t think I ran into any fellow Americans. My wife and I are from Maine. We really felt bad for the poor guys out front who got stiffed on EBAY.

  5. nAder permalink
    September 16, 2009 11:18 pm

    WoW, to sell out and not play on NEW YEARS EVE (Which is a Patton tradition for the past 10 years or so) would be total disservice to their fAns & the bAy area. Come on, are you going to tell me that they can’t get a show offer in the states?? That’s a crock of sh*t!! Why don’t they offer some fans tickets to the Mexico shows! I’m sure they can now afford it.

  6. Praxi permalink
    September 16, 2009 11:22 pm

    it’s a sadness to U.S fans, but if haven’t offers for them, obviously, FNM not have shows there. Now i was on a shop disc and have the last disc of FNM and surprised me that isn’t expensive…i’m so anxious…just want that be october 30. =)

  7. radiantjelly permalink
    September 16, 2009 11:56 pm

    any chance for more shows in Europe? I’ve been to 1 and that wasn’t nearly enough:)

  8. Nickc permalink
    September 16, 2009 11:56 pm

    This sicks!!!!!!!!!!! How can peeping tom get a tour and Faith no More cant? I dont buy. I seen Peeping Tom in NYC and it was packed! And why was this? Because Patton has a loyal following from his days with FAITH NO MORE!! Come to the States! I take it as disdain.

  9. stu permalink
    September 17, 2009 12:35 am

    FNM will be at coachella and/or lollapalooza next year. mark my words. they’ll get the offers from the festivals. but that is too far away. hello mexico.

  10. Jeff K permalink
    September 17, 2009 12:37 am

    This really annoys the shit out of me ….. If they don’t end up playing the States at all – and only EVERY OTHER country in the WORLD, I wonder why that is? There’s even an interview w/ Patton you can see online with him saying “I’m not stupid, if the money was there I’d do it” (regarding FNM reunion)… I understand these guys have to make a living, but I seriously DOUBT they would be LOSING money by doing a 1-month tour of the states, playing to 1500-3000 seat Theaters, etc… They could sell out EVERY show – and sure they wouldn’t make as much scratch as playing Download, or any of these huge European gigs – but at least they’d be there for all of their MOST DEDICATED FANS – THIS IS FUCKING BULLSHIT. I never thought I’d be saying all of this – They are my FAVORITE BAND…..ever…. and they still are – but I had a bad feeling about this, and it seems to be coming true. They came back into it for the motherfucking money and that’s it. Fucking sucks. They could even do TEN dates in the U.S., and people would travel to nearby states to see them (guaranteed) – but they’re not even going to do that. (NY, L.A., CHICAGO, DENVER, TEXAS, OHIO, FLORIDA, SEATTLE, PORTLAND, D.C.)

    Whatever – I’m just fucking pissed. I guess I can try going to fucking Mexico, being that I live in Arizona….

    Dammmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmit.

    -Frustrated #1 FNM Fan in AZ

    • September 17, 2009 12:35 pm

      Jeff–I can’t agree with you more. Your comments just hit the nail right on the head. I just got into work this morning and read the news—-I am beyond disappointed. FNM is my FAV band and always will be—but I feel VERY let down.
      Unfortunately I don’t have enough money to travel to Australia on a whim to see them….so I am basically shit out of luck. And you’re right..even if they played 10 states, hell–even 5 states, I’d be more than happy with that.
      Ugh, just so disappointed this morning.

      Danielle (Super let down #1FNM fan in Chicago)

    • Edward permalink
      September 17, 2009 4:57 pm

      I agree with you man. They aren’t hugely popular here in the states, but they do have alot of fans (who are just as passionate as the folks in Europe, Australia, Mexico, etc). Why is it that North American fans are left in the cold? This is garbage. I got laid off and the very next day I read about the Faith No More reunion. It really got my hopes up, and made me feel alright (hey if FNM is back, things can’t be too bad), but with no new album news, and no US tour, what’s the point? I mean, all I’m doing is listening to concert bootlegs and old albums. Nothing for us US fans to get excited about at all.

  11. Pogo_Lynch permalink
    September 17, 2009 12:58 am

    I just cannot believe it!

  12. Lindsay permalink
    September 17, 2009 1:15 am

    I could really cry if this is true. There are no other bands that could make me this depressed.

  13. Firsa permalink
    September 17, 2009 1:27 am

    I have to ask, if they are willing to accept such small venues elsewhere (Olympia theater in Dublin, and Mexico city gig), exactly WHAT sort of US offers are they looking for?

    Sure they are free to set their own benchmarks for playing the States, but if they give their US fans (note the plural!) some hope or give them an idea what sort of venue they want to play here, maybe the FANS can help make it happen. Am I being too idealistic?

  14. Miss Leo permalink
    September 17, 2009 1:35 am

    NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! Com on at least 1 in Los Angeles. DOWIT!

    • Markus permalink
      September 17, 2009 3:32 am

      I’m also in Los Angeles, anyone in the vicinity want to drive to Mexico?

      • Sev permalink
        September 17, 2009 5:39 am

        I too am in LA, carpool to Mexico will make us all happy people and the driver a little richer ; )

  15. Steve permalink
    September 17, 2009 2:00 am

    Unrelated but I thought I’d let you guys know that a Real Thing shirt and Ricochet appear in Botchamania 99.

  16. September 17, 2009 3:49 am

    It’s always possible but I never thought the only reason would be for the money………but it is kinda why I’m holding off on buying one of the new shirts. Just Saying.

  17. Praxi permalink
    September 17, 2009 3:57 am

    I agree with “Jeff K” sometimes I feel that all is about money. Is just see the price of tickets in Chile and i can’t believe it is so expensive, i know that it’s in part cause chilean producers… But bring me the doubt perhaps FNM really doesn’t see many possibility in US. In Chile (and south america) seems that everybody would pay any price.

  18. ThePetro permalink
    September 17, 2009 5:04 am

    Completely agree with Jeff K. They could do a small tour in only major US cities and they would sell out decent sized venues.

    I think they are just taking one step at a time and don’t feel like fielding all of the US tour date questions by just ignoring the option for the time being. They’ll play US tour dates.

    • Sev permalink
      September 17, 2009 5:51 am

      Let’s hope there are US dates!

  19. Jojo permalink
    September 17, 2009 6:24 am

    Before all of your get your panties soiled, please consider the source…it’s from a fan, not the band itself. Personally, I think it’s a little irresponsible to post “news” like this.

  20. Kailey permalink
    September 17, 2009 7:12 am

    Although this news is disheartening, I still have hope.
    I live in Canada and was willing to get a passport JUST to see Faith No more, so I’ve been anxiously waiting.
    I can also see WHY they’re not playing the US right now: we’re heading into Fall/Winter seasons where there aren’t that many festivals going on.
    In a hopeful and perfect world, they’ll finish their Australian tour, get back into the studio, compile a new album, and by that time they’ll rock the North America with a huge tour. Although it seems like more waiting, it would be well worth it!

  21. September 17, 2009 11:18 am

    Look @ these responses…jeez take a chill-pill m8’s. You guys don’t even know for sure that there won’t be any US/CAN dates, its prob only a matter of time before a venue will book the band. And IF they will create another album they will have no choise, you guys just need to wait a little longer.

    And offcourse its about money, and im willing to give them a heap! Currently there’s no band on this planet that can measure up to faith no more, its timeless music deserves much more credit then currently given. Just look @ the charts these days, its horrible… Lyrics of songs are degraded to demented rhymes about asses and “going to tha party, and get drunk” – foolishness. Its a relief listning to the old albums of faith no more. Yunno, back in the day? When bands made music?

  22. September 17, 2009 12:42 pm

    This feels like a slap in the face to the US fans. I am beyond upset, but am hoping these are again, just rumors. Just so upset—why wouldn’t they make every effort possible to play the US? Just rumors, I hope!!

    Danielle (Chicago)

  23. Royston in Nottingham permalink
    September 17, 2009 1:32 pm

    It would be a real shame if they did not do a US tour, though this is Faith No More we are talking about, they are total wind-up merchants……… there will be a US tour, its going to happen.

    I was lucky enough to see them at the Download Festival, Hurricane Festival and the Leeds festival and I can confirm they were something special and yes I am a greedy bastard!!

    • September 17, 2009 1:39 pm

      Lol, what does wind up merchants, mean?? Seriously I’m asking, I’ve never this term.

      • Drizzlobber permalink
        September 17, 2009 2:52 pm

        it means they love fucking with people, lying to amuse themselves and to annoy/upset others

    • Firsa permalink
      September 17, 2009 3:14 pm

      Agreed with Drizzlobber. So by grade-school standards, they must really like us! I’ll go carve it in a tree right now.

      • September 17, 2009 6:14 pm

        I get that feeling. I know they have said in the past that they were disappointed in America in general, but they’re not stupid, they are quite aware of the loyal following here. I’m still not getting ensconced in anger yet, there’s no way there’s no San Francisco show at least. I’m half expecting an announcement on Dec. 25th, or with these guys, April 1st.

  24. hidden permalink
    September 17, 2009 3:27 pm

    They had not recived any offers at all from the USA, big or small, atleast none that thier booking agent passed on to them!

  25. EX-FAN OF FNM permalink
    September 17, 2009 5:30 pm

    This is ridiculous! Why do we all stay so dedicated to this band??? So the money isn’t in it for the band to come to the states, yet we are supposed to spend thousands of dollars each to fly somewhere and see them?
    I honestly think it shows that they have no respect for their fans from the fact that they have not played even one gig here in the states. It’s just greed. That is what it comes down to. Greed. And I am pretty damn sure that the Coachella music festival would have offered them a decent amount of money to play there.
    I have lost a large amount of respect for you guys in FNM. I’m real glad that being a dedicated fan for 20 years now has paid off. And not just to FNM but to all the projects the band members have done. I think it may be time for me to let these bitches go.

  26. kygermo permalink
    September 17, 2009 6:07 pm

    ^^ Wouldnt be surprised if that was Bill Gould posting as “hidden”.

    • The Editor permalink*
      September 18, 2009 7:21 am

      It wasn’t.

  27. Whit permalink
    September 17, 2009 6:45 pm

    Wow. I had a feeling this might happen. But, as some have said, this “news” is not concrete. If they do some US dates, I will carpool ANYWHERE. I’m in NC for the moment. I feel so bad for fans who haven’t seen them yet on this tour. I’m sorry 😦

  28. NAN permalink
    September 17, 2009 7:29 pm

    If I was a US fan, seeing all the confirmations throughout Europe, SA, AUS, I would be impatiently waiting for US dates. Or at least to know if there would be any plans or not. Knowing a definite NO would stop all speculations, but I don’t think that this information is accurate. It would be a fact if: 1. any of the guys tweeted about it or 2. posted on their official site. But it never happened. So it’s again just another speculation.
    In my opinion Gezarie doesn’t wanted any wrong with this comment; she was lucky enough to meet the band, so she just wanted to update you, she asked, got this answer and that’s it, but I seriously doubt that they want to forward bad news through a fan. I wouldn’t tell anything like this to a stranger either, even if he/she was nice and trustworthy.”Simply the US offers are not there” – YET, but it doesn’t mean that there are no negotiations. If it is for the money? So be it! You cannot blame them for this! Everybody has to earn a living and they are musicians, they get money for playing music. Why would it be wrong if they wanted a good deal? They’ve played amazing shows so far, they worked hard for their money. If it is because of the lack of interest and offers by venues in the US? Hmm, who knows? But it would be the stupidest thing if no concert organizer wanted to get FNM on stage, after seeing their success abroad and the feedback from the fans. I would get rid of those managers right away. You can boo me now and say it’s easy for me to say that, because, yes, I was also lucky enough to be part of a fabulous concert this year. And I’ve seen smile on their faces, they looked happy playing together again and to see how many ppl still love their music. I’ve watched their previous concert from 12 years ago on youtube, and it was just not worth comparing it with this year’s experience. There was nothing wrong with the music, but their attitude and mood was like they’d just come from a funeral. But more than a decade later, they are better than ever. All in all, until they enjoy what they are doing, why stop?
    Maybe they want to have a little time to rest (come on! they had 4 and 5 days in a row playing in different countries/cities each day; it must have been tiring and extremly tough) and will tour the US next summer. Maybe they will record a new album? Or not? No one knows the answer. Maybe FNM doesn’t know it either, they just go with flow and see what the future holds.
    Please don’t get me wrong, I don’t want to give back hope (I obviously don’t have the right to do it), but until it is not published officially…it’s still just a rumour.
    I just feel bad about this post, and I’m not sure if it was fair and a brilliant idea to post this comment, honestly it was irresponsible (although I still like this site, respect the ppl who run it). It generated sadness, disappointmet, sometimes anger, but all for nothing. US fans, just be patient and you’ll find out what the truth is. But respect their decision, it’s their life, I’m sure they will have lucid reasons, no matter how this “story” ends.

    • September 18, 2009 10:28 am

      NAN – great comment I couldn’t agree more 🙂

  29. September 17, 2009 7:56 pm

    Come on lets face it, Patton is in it for the money, he doesn’t need Faith No More anymore. On numerous occasions he stated that “if they offer me 2 suit cases of money to reform I would think about it”. I guess he got 3.

    As for the US tour it will happen at some point, I guess they are looking for another couple of suit cases. If anything they will have to do a San Francisco date, home town after all.

    All said, I have seen them 3 times now and they are putting a lot of effort into it, so maybe the money & nostalgia or the fear of getting older has played some part in it all.

    Stop squabbling get your cash out and go see them. If they happen to do a US tour then you get to see them twice.

    US tour – definitely
    New material – maybee
    Bungle reformation – never

    • Whit permalink
      September 17, 2009 8:03 pm

      I agree completely, but I hope you’re wrong about Bungle….but you’re not…..

  30. Jason permalink
    September 17, 2009 8:22 pm

    I’d rather have new material then a US tour. Though I was hoping for some type of good news on the US front. Face it FNM is a one hit wonder in the US and would only be able to sell out a large theatre not an arena. Fkn sucks!!

    BUT I do agree at some point they will do some US gigs… I mean they have to right? RIGHT? I hope so.

  31. Michael Bolger permalink
    September 17, 2009 9:49 pm

    I heard that the guy in charge of Goldenvoice productions used to manage Primus and if anyone is capable of booking FNM for a New Years Eve San Francisco show that they would be the ones able to pull it off.

    I just started a thread on that topic on his board over here

    http://www.goldenvoice.com/forum/showthread.php?p=3669#post3669

    If any of you feel strongly about wanting to see FNM do a US show (or more importantly, that you would pay to see FNM do a US show, promoters like to hear that kind of talk) please take a moment to leave a comment on that thread.

    One of the FNM threads we have going on the Coachella board is up to 20 + pages, and I think activity like that speaks volumes about the market and the desire for a show over here.

    Thank you all –

    • Firsa permalink
      September 18, 2009 1:35 am

      I tried posting my support a few times but am still “awaiting approval”. I’m such a spaz…

      • Michael Bolger permalink
        September 18, 2009 3:03 am

        THANK YOU !

  32. September 17, 2009 10:22 pm

    The people at the top of the food-chain, the very top organizers controlling this whole reunion tour, and for many other top bands, have heard the whisper from the top, and the word’s got ’round that the US is on the very brink of slipping, very soon, into a big nasty hole causing massive upheaval and unrest within that country in particular, making any sort of ‘good business’ opportunities mostly null and void. Not worthwhile or perhaps impossible. Or maybe they’ll announce dates tomorrow.

    • Whit permalink
      September 18, 2009 3:24 am

      What in the hell are you talking about AD?

    • September 18, 2009 4:20 am

      Jeez Louise, you sound like my dad after a bottle and two hours of Limbaugh.

  33. Sara permalink
    September 18, 2009 1:53 am

    Speaking of Soundwave tickets being on sale, I got an email the day before yesterday saying “Soundwave tickets on sale Friday!” and the next day I got an email saying my tickets are on their way. Ah, bless early bird tickets. Sorry, I’m very happy and feel like rubbing people’s face in it. Hahaha… 😛 Naughty Sara. If you guys come down here I might be able to make friends from different parts of the world… That’d be cool. So if you fancy a trip to Australia next Feb/March I say go for it. (Yes, I know it’s not as simple as I make it sound.)

  34. Mat permalink
    September 18, 2009 3:57 am

    I’m an Australian and I’m happy to say that this might be one of the first times in recent history where we do NOT get screwed!

    US fans should relax, you get a pretty decent run in terms of gigs. Many bands classify Australian touring as unprofitable and hence we miss out on heaps of shit.

    Also, you should have bought more albums back in the day :~

    • September 18, 2009 9:00 am

      “Also, you should have bought more albums back in the day :~”

      couldnt agree more m8.

      Im happy ive got to see them in Belgium during “Pukkelpop” (junno…when the guy stage-dived into a fence…appearantly he was a roady of La Roux)

      Fingers crossed for a new album! (or a live cd of one of the shows would be nice)

  35. Bertrand_Paris permalink
    September 18, 2009 8:11 am

    Hey US Fans why don’t you all just send Emails to US promoters asking you WANT a FNM tour in the US ?

  36. September 18, 2009 9:22 am

    OK HOLD THE PHONE!!!!!

    I NEVER said this categorically wont happen! I feel like this might be a bit of an overreaction. NAN is correct in saying that this was only what I was told AT THIS POINT IN TIME but you all should realise that nothing is set in stone with this tour. I have no possible way of knowing what will happen for the rest of the tour, any more than any of you. I think that it should be made very clear that all news must come directly from the BAND, and from the band only. My word isnt gospel!

    I was merely suggesting that if it were possible for some fans to head to mexico and they can and are dedicated enough than they should.

    I sincerely apologise to have cause such a ruckus.

  37. September 18, 2009 11:25 am

    Also I should add that I spoke up without having all the facts. Bill told me personally that they ARE working on US dates but it is tricky and not just from a money perspective.

    So cheer up US!
    But while you’re passionate and worked up, contact promoters! Use the link that Michael Bolgor posted. Write emails. Make it happen.

    All the best

    Gezarie

    • The Editor permalink*
      September 18, 2009 12:02 pm

      Thanks for the clarifications. My take on it – without speaking to anyone – is that FNM are more likely than not to play US dates. Gezarie’s initial comment was only her reading of the tour at the current moment – i.e. that no dates have been planned or scheduled. In hindsight, I perhaps should not have published it as a guest post (and apologies Gezarie if I hung you out to dry) but this is a blog and not a side dealing in official band news so we can tarde in speculation and that is all this was. Otherwise, cheers for all the comments and lets hope the US tour does come off.

  38. hidden permalink
    September 18, 2009 11:57 am

    You people should know that bands can not decide where and when to play (unless your the likes of U2) the band are not ignoring the USA!

    also from a promotors point of view, on thier last tour in Australia they were playing 10000+ venues, what size venue’s did they play in the US?
    If thiers no money in it for a promotor they wont touch them. (and by money they want around 40% return on thier money)

Comments are closed.

