Skip to content

Patton does Dylan

December 3, 2009

From the forthcoming Jamie Saft album Trouble, Mike Patton sings Bob Dylan’s Ballad of a Thin Man.

Pick up the album here.

(Again hat tip to Gezarie for the Twitter link)

23 Comments leave one →
  1. Pino permalink
    December 3, 2009 9:49 am

    Patton could sing the white pages and still be great!!!

  2. December 3, 2009 10:05 am

    Mike Patton is so versatile, you can throw anything at him and he will pull it off!

  3. Wanderlusting permalink
    December 3, 2009 10:11 am

    Agreed with Pino – Patton’s actually making Dylan tolerable for me, then again he makes most things tolerable for me 🙂

    Now back to patiently waiting for the USA dates to be announced. I’m in New Zealand right now and seeing FNM posters and commercials around town is very aggravating, considering I won’t be here when they start the next leg!

  4. December 3, 2009 10:23 am

    Fantastic – thanks!

  5. nick permalink
    December 3, 2009 11:30 am

    Hasn’t this album been around almost a year , rather than being forthcoming ?

    Product details

    * Audio CD (12 Jan 2009)
    * Number of Discs: 1
    * Label: Tzadik

  6. Bosbeetle permalink
    December 3, 2009 11:47 am

    yeah this is very old news

  7. Bosbeetle permalink
    December 3, 2009 11:48 am

    Jamie Saft Trio : Trouble–The Jamie Saft Trio Plays Bob Dylan

    Cat. # 8111
    [b]Released Aug 2006[/b]
    cd time – 51:18
    US Price $16.00

    • The Editor permalink*
      December 3, 2009 11:51 am

      Cheers for the info. Was new to me though.

      • Michael Bolger permalink
        December 11, 2009 6:54 pm

        Don’t feel to bad. I just discovered the other day an ancient recording of FNM doing a live cover of Mariah Carey’s Vision of Love.

        Maybe old news to others but it’s a new discovery for me.

  8. Bosbeetle permalink
    December 3, 2009 11:49 am

    source: http://www.tzadik.com

  9. December 3, 2009 2:05 pm

    New to me, I gotta get over i-tunes. I just don’t keep up with the many many side things Patton does. I’m sure most of its’ pretty great but I get the good stuff by keeping in touch with fans. Okay pattonaphiles, which Zorn song is he singing on?? The one which is slow and has an organ crawl and he’s crooning kind of deep?? It was featured heavily in A Bookshelf at the Top of the Sky.

    • Chris permalink
      December 7, 2009 1:35 am

      I could be way off on this, but is it “The Ballad Of McCain” (though I don’t know if that’s the correct title or not)?

      • December 7, 2009 5:34 pm

        See, I knew it was on The Big Gun Down, but it was released in ’84, so I didn’t think Patton sang that. But after you said that I see it’s a 20th Anniversary release. So much for me thinking my smarts get me through the day. Thanks!

  10. Whit permalink
    December 3, 2009 3:13 pm

    I also had no idea, but don’t really keep up with the latest. Hard to keep up w/ that man and his million projects. I’m really enjoying this cover. Eight minutes long. That man is beyond amazing. Be still my beating heart.

  11. December 3, 2009 3:32 pm

    I love this song. And i prefer Mike Patton’s version

  12. omri permalink
    December 3, 2009 6:06 pm

    maybe tzadik are re-releasing it, but in any case it was originally released a while ago, as in 2006:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jamie_Saft

    there’s another track on it with patton vocals, if i remember correctly.

    saft is brilliant, but this album is kinda boring :/

  13. December 3, 2009 7:52 pm

    Have had this album for a few years now, have to say I’m not much of a Dylan fan but like Saft a lot and his arrangements on the CD are mostly very good. It’s mainly instrumentals, think one other song has vocals but pretty sure this is the only one with Patton.

  14. Firsa permalink
    December 4, 2009 3:46 am

    I know the news is slow, so thank you for the steady supply of tasty FNM related tidbits in the meantime! Keeps my glucose levels from spiking.

  15. Dan permalink
    December 5, 2009 5:36 pm

    My favourite Dylan song, covered by my favourite artist…this is gonna be good!

    • Dan permalink
      December 5, 2009 5:45 pm

      Not bad…easily prefer Dylan’s though.

  16. Alksyntrs permalink
    December 6, 2009 1:38 am

    Awesome! thanks…

  17. PYL permalink
    December 9, 2009 4:22 pm

    Hi

    I didn’t know where to post this comment, so I’m doing it here.

    Hey, FNM, how about a little visit here, in Montreal?

    Please?

Leave a Reply

