Skip to content

Extensive Mike Patton interview

October 21, 2009

Mike Patton speaks about the reunion, the possibility of new material, side projects, the tour so far and playing in Brazil in a wide-ranging interview with leading Brazilian newspaper O Globo on 13 October.  I came across this interview belatedly at the mikepatton.cl website. Mercifully, Buga_Lady at the mouthoftheocean forum has provided an English translation here.

Sample quotes:
On saying no to a reunion
“I was certain that would never happen. I don’t know how many times, through the years, I said I would never be part of something like that, that it would be a step back. I always liked to give and end to things for good, in my personal life and professional, and go ahead. The idea of paying homage to our own music sounded selfish and horrible. Many times my manager came talking about an offer, and I wouldn’t let him finish the sentence.”

On finally saying yes:
“There was an offer for some shows in Europe. I thought it was a good moment and ended up agreeing. In the first rehearsal, I was late and I didn’t manage to enter the studio. I sat outside on the floor and listened to the band playing. The sound was very good, I felt I would be comfortable singing those songs again. And now we are here. We already played about 40 shows, and we are all happy.”

On a new record:
“We haven’t discarded that completely, but we are not thinking about composing. We don’t want to be like those bands that stay years apart, then return and release a horrible record.”

On FNM future:
We are not Starbuck’s, that are in every corner. If you want to see us, it is better go this time, because we don’t know if there will be another one, certainly not in another 10 years. So far we have shows booked until February, and maybe that will be it. The curious fact is that we didn’t have many offers to play in the USA.

32 Comments leave one →
  1. EX-EX-FAN OF FNM permalink
    October 21, 2009 3:45 pm

    I’ll make them an offer to play in the U.S.A. They can play in my living room. Just play in the U.S.A.! Can’t wait to see them!!!

  2. October 21, 2009 3:53 pm

    I take what Mike says with a grain of salt sometimes – however, I’ve deduced that they are most likely playing San Francisco in April (it’s on my blog). With news from Bill yesterday confirming the US shows, I wonder when this interview was conducted? Or if Mike is being his usual cryptic self? 🙂

    I also find it hard to believe they haven’t gotten offers to play but that’s also the music industry for ya. Hopefully promoters will smarten up and get FNM in their clubs/stadiums/arenas ASAP! Their fan base is outstanding and insanely devoted.

    Either way, I’m planning a road trip to SF for April, just in case ;P

    • Fat Panda permalink
      October 21, 2009 11:26 pm

      Well he did say “didn’t have many offers to play in the USA”. He didn’t say they didn’t have any, just not many.

  3. October 21, 2009 5:43 pm

    Nice to have some confirmation though! Glad to see you stuck around Ex-ex-fan-of-fnm

    *chuckles*

  4. October 21, 2009 6:20 pm

    Awesome !!

    I’m so happy for you all guys !!! They finally did !!! =’)
    Wish I could be there and see the wonder by myself, Rock en seine wasn’t enough for me !!! 😀

  5. October 21, 2009 7:38 pm

    That’ll change for sure. Once the folks who get involved with this stuff for the cash see how many are willing to go, it’ll explode.

  6. GRAVES permalink
    October 21, 2009 8:45 pm

    Go back to sing in Paris..and try making movie here,,,

  7. Anna permalink
    October 21, 2009 8:50 pm

    i saw them in athens, greece this summer…… what can i say… it was the best show i have EVER seen. great energy, Mike was amazing and the band sounded great. they played all the songs i was hoping for! love u guys!

  8. Hilde permalink
    October 21, 2009 9:12 pm

    Best news EVER!
    I never stopped being a fan and always hoped for this.
    Saw them this summer and was a bit afraid of what would have happened to the sound… but it was fucking GREAT!

  9. October 21, 2009 9:14 pm

    FNM has to come stateside! I’ve gotta see it firsthand!

  10. james meadows/nottingham permalink
    October 21, 2009 9:20 pm

    Saw the band at reading,awesome show i thought especially as it had been 15 odd years since our previous encounter,most respectable if not better,go see em,you snooze you looze! x

  11. Beppe permalink
    October 21, 2009 9:49 pm

    AHHHHHH…..! vi ho visti a Milano ed ancora brucia dentro….siete stati come un fulmine a ciel sereno….
    Con i crampi allo stomaco vi abbraccio! prendete sta bottiglia amici miei.

    Con affetto
    Beppe

  12. Samisan permalink
    October 21, 2009 9:58 pm

    Being a huge fan of FNM, I totally agree with what Mike says about not releasing a horrible album after ten years of silence. If FNM ever compose again, it should be of great inspiration or should not be at all !

    From what I’ve seen in Paris, Mike’s vocals evolve towards more hardcore and destroyed sounds than ever, I guess they should release an album of the vein of Angel Dust with even more trash sounds, a bit like what Mike does with Tomahawk.

    That could be the best FNM album ever, they even should call the world tour “This is It”!

  13. November permalink
    October 21, 2009 10:24 pm

    you guys…..seriously….MUST fucking come to the bay area! I’ll find a venue for you myself. COME!!

  14. October 21, 2009 10:41 pm

    Hey Mike, remember us Americans?

  15. Lúcia permalink
    October 21, 2009 11:51 pm

    you made my day on the 8th of August!! Thank you so mush

  16. jay permalink
    October 22, 2009 12:05 am

    Where and when are the US shows?

  17. Erwin permalink
    October 22, 2009 6:14 am

    Hey Mike!
    Lame excuse for not doing a new album! Faith No More isn’t even CAPABLE of making horrible music!!! So start composing PLEASE!!

  18. October 22, 2009 7:33 am

    I’m also happy for U.S. fans. Wish I could be there or in South America or whenever to see them again 🙂

  19. Paul permalink
    October 22, 2009 10:56 am

    Went to the show in Tel-Aviv on 1st. September… best show ever!!!
    Please release a CD/DVD of the tour.

  20. Drizzlobber permalink
    October 22, 2009 1:17 pm

    First it was ONLY a european tour. Then there are the south america legs and australian gigs.

    Then, after saying no, they ARE playing USA

    I would bet a lot of money on there being a new album. Whatever these guys say, it’s about money, and they would make shit-loads off it on another record and one more world tour. I hope it happens, and i reckon it will, then it’ll all be over again. The new album would be ace, they could make a classic record in their sleep.

  21. Doug permalink
    October 22, 2009 4:03 pm

    This interview is 2 weeks old.

  22. October 22, 2009 9:35 pm

    Just why would it be a horrible album? They are capable of making an amazing new album! I suppose they’re just seeing how things go. The shows I saw this year at Download and Reading were incredible and I saw them live in 1992, 1994 and 1995 and last time before this year was 1997, so it was a long wait, but worth it!

  23. November 16, 2009 9:00 pm

    Please come to South Florida.Pretty please…pretty,pretty please 🙂

  24. Mark Burns permalink
    November 16, 2009 11:11 pm

    I saw FNM at Leeds U.K earlier this year.For me it was a joyous occasion,i’ve never stopped listening to their music.Whether i see FNM again doesn’t matter.I was there,and i was happy.I agree with what Mike said,i wouldn’t want to see FMN become a cartoon band e.g Kiss or The Rolling Stones.However,if FNM do record again,i guarantee it would be a great album.Thanks for the music!

  25. November 19, 2009 12:33 pm

    Everything FNM did this year was beyond amazing, personally I’ve enjoyed the show to the point of crying…Now comes the sad part, that may end the tour, no future record, but guess all good things have an ending…
    I’ll forever be a FNM fan, and devoted to Mike Patton, and if they ever decide to come back to Argentina, i’ll be glad and honoured to go see them again.

  26. Alexia permalink
    November 23, 2009 3:17 am

    Well I am grateful that you have reformed and I got my tickets to the Sydney and Melbourne shows. I was too young to see you last time and now I am all grown and IT’s ON!! Hope it works out America, its good to be Australian x

  27. Tim permalink
    December 3, 2009 2:57 pm

    I guarantee that there will be a new album eventually. It has to happen.

  28. Djvu permalink
    December 20, 2009 10:44 am

    wow !! how about India ? lol 1 billion of them !
    FNM is PURE F***ING BRILLIANT MAN!! skill-wise talent-wise , they are way up.. equal even more than `biggies` Metallica` ` GnR. But when I analyse why FNM commercially has been below potential. It would be
    – Consistently brilliantly music but the theme of songs is not consistent, rather there is lots of variety. You guys are master of all trades. That results in fan base being narrow. For eg. if you listen to one FNM song , then if you listen to the next , IT will be totally different flavour. That could result in a confused audience and lost potential of creating a steady growing loyal fan base.
    But bands like Iron Maiden or Aerosmith have been consistent. You hear one song other are so similar ( no surprises and fans get consistent flavour). Rather I would call it even being ` boring` or being `too safe`.
    FNM is so multi – talented and multi-faceted but these big attributes could also come in way of creating an expanding loyal fan base.

    I heard` King for a day` after like 12 years and man it still rocks !!
    Do i feel the same of say an Iron Maiden GNR Aerosmith ? Not all .maybe some songs. that is what FNM is all about… the brilliant arrangements, tempos, vocals, so intricate,well structured, bit of sadness (in KFAD) yet melodious, cachy, Even evil.
    I think average IQ of FNM fanbase is higher than the avg. person. And to appreciate FNM one needs to have a very high refined sense of music.
    you guys are brilliant.if someone asks me a question
    Q: Bands / songs to be listened to before you die ?
    A: FNM would be among the my top 5.

Trackbacks

  1. Top Posts « WordPress.com
  2. with us or against us » Blog Archive » Mike Patton Interview
  3. When is 1000 true music fans not enough?: Faith No More, Kylie Minogue, hallyu, and J-pop « The Learned Fangirl

Leave a comment