Skip to content

Faith No More at Download reaction, reviews etc

June 12, 2009

I was only able to watch the first song of FNM’s Download gig live on the web tonight but there’s plenty around the web now. Indeed, Faith No More are such a hot topic that Faith No More is a top ten Trending Topic on Twitter.

Set list: They played Ashes to Ashes, We Care a Lot and Take This Bottle which weren’t played at Brixton.

Metal Hammer give a positive review, rating the show as better than Brixton. Sample quote: “The only way to describe this awesome, awe-inspiring set is that it’s everything that it threatened to be.”

Thrash Hits has a short review and a nice photo gallery.

Local paper Nottingham Evening Post have a short review and its far from glowing: “Finally, thousands of us anticipated the second coming of Faith No More. And while a tongue in cheek rendition of Reunited was a nice touch, I personally thought the rest of their show drifted along without much drive apart from brief highlights like Epic.”

Download website blog gives a brief FNM review. Sample quote: “My ears are ringing. Faith No More have just left the stage, and after a colossal set that included the incredible Epic, and covers of Easy, Poker Face and Reunited (which they opened the set with), FNM proved, if there was ever any doubt, that after 11 years out of the limelight, they’ve still got it.”

Virtual Festivals also now have a review. Sample quote: “From the moment Patton hobbled on with a cane, he had the crowd in the palm of his hand, as the band open with a cover of apt crooning classic ‘Reunited’.”

Actually Stubbadub has been all over this on their site and on Twitter. Set list comes from there (I had guessed that Poker Face would be one of the pop samples that Mike P likes to throw in this time round)
1. Reunited
2. The Real Thing
3. From out of Nowhere
4. Land of Sunshine
5. Caffeine
6. Evidence (with some Spanish/Portuguese?)
7. Poker Face / Chinese Arithmetic
8. Surprise you’re Dead
9. Easy
10. Last Cup of Sorrow
11. Midlife Crisis
12. Introduce Yourself
13. Gentle Art of Making Enemies
14. Take This Bottle
15. Ashes to Ashes
16. Malpractice
17. Cuckoo for Caca
18. Be Aggressive
19. Epic
20. Mark Bowen

Encore:
21. Chariots of Fire into Stripsearch
22. We Care a Lot

More clips, pics and reviews to come.

22 Comments leave one →
  1. evilwolf permalink
    June 12, 2009 11:07 pm

    also introduce yourself

  2. djerdap permalink
    June 12, 2009 11:09 pm

    Introduce Yourself was another one that wasn’t played at Brixton. Glad to see they are mixing it up a bit.

  3. June 13, 2009 12:04 am

    What a fuckin show, I guess they took the hint from my comment on the Brixxton show and sacked the sound guy!!!!

    All I can say is these guys have not lost anything through age, in fact I could almost say they are better than I remember. Mixing it up they are!

    Chinese Arithmetic and Mark Bowen live twice in 3 nights, come on what the fuck am I gonna do for the rest of my life. A nice splash of Ashes to Ashes and Stripsearch which I have never heard live as I missed the AOTY tour!! just heard shitty boots. The classics of The Real Thing, From Out Of Nowhere and Epic followed by a ass fucking from Angel Dust and King.

    All I can say is the show is going on and you are in for a treat.

    The tracks that were not played at Brixton are:

    Evidence (with some sung in Portuguese) – was played at Brixton but without Portuguese lyrics.

    Poker Face / Chinese Arithmetic – Played at Brixton as well but without the Poker Face intro to it.

    Introduce Yourself
    Gentle Art of Making Enemies
    Take This Bottle
    Ashes to Ashes
    We Care a Lot

    These were played at Brixton but not at Download:

    RV
    King For A Day
    Jizzlobber
    Just A Man
    I Started A Joke
    Pristina

    Still no As The Worm Turns but there is time yet!!!!!

  4. June 13, 2009 12:07 am

    Hi, I just uploaded the audio (with tagged tracks):

    http://rapidshare.com/files/243901466/Faith_No_More_-_Live___Download_Festival_2009.rar.html

    🙂

  5. Grant permalink
    June 13, 2009 4:13 am

    Ema-From all of us in the U.S. that won’t be seeing them any time soon…THANK YOU!!!

  6. Andrew permalink
    June 13, 2009 6:31 am

    Mike was singing in Portuguese, it was hilarious.

    “Any Spanish speaking people?”

    “That was Portuguese. Just checking.”

    “You guys like heavy music, right? Where’s all the fat people?”

  7. June 13, 2009 8:59 am

    Ema:

    Great upload, Gonna snatch that audio now, what quality is it?

  8. June 13, 2009 9:26 am

    My audio is @ 128 kbps. I didn’t choose a higher bitrate because the original audio of the video has a bitrate of 128 kbps.

  9. iiti permalink
    June 13, 2009 10:55 am

    Does anybody have the concert in video format?

  10. Anzlezz permalink
    June 13, 2009 11:04 am

    This is a great set and let’s hope they’ll continue playing over 20 songs on festivals and not the 60 min dissapointing ones…So far very good and keep changing setlist. If not played before, I’ll demand RICOCHET played at HOVE!!!

  11. gump permalink
    June 13, 2009 11:06 am

    Don’t get me wrong i love FNM i been dreaming to see them reunited, but they don’t sound good to me…guitar playing of Hudson is full of emptiness and little annoying brakes, bass line of Gould is stiff and his guitar has plastic unnatural sound, when i hear some old recordings both sound and playing are much more richer, and Puffy’s playing is full of mistakes and he sounds scared and insecure (What was that on Caffeine???? they ruined favorite part of favorite song!!)…Mike voice sometimes sounds like he is very bored… I think he would do much more screaming than actual singing in future concerts…. is this just me or…

  12. June 13, 2009 1:16 pm

    gump:

    I agree, I pulled down the Brixton gig a bit but Download had been tweeked and sounded 60% better to my ears anyway. We have got to remember that it was only the second gig in over 11 years and its people like us who have to forgive the mistakes now and hope for a better show in the coming months. After all there are 100s of reviewers out there just waiting to pounce like Caroline Sullivan from the Guardian: http://www.guardian.co.uk/culture/2009/jun/13/pop-review-faith-no-more

    We need to stick with the band, keep supporting them as you never know that there might be the slightest chance of more gigs and an album.

  13. gump permalink
    June 13, 2009 1:29 pm

    new record will be out I’m sure 100 %…Mike once said that he writes a bunch of music every day , then he tries to figure it out for witch band it suits best…I belive that he has bunch of FNM suitable music, like any other member of band for all this years…My comment was just reaction on their Download gig… They are HUGE & UNSTOPPABLE already…

  14. Michael Bolger permalink
    June 13, 2009 5:04 pm

    Notice how they didn’t cut the music during the peak of Midlife Crisis like they did at the Brixton show. I like that. Both these shows complimented each other really well and they both remain unique.

    Am I the only one who’s slightly scared that Patton has a cane? I’d be that much more nervous if I was actually on the stage and within striking distance. Great, someone gave Patton a weapon.

    And notice what a FNM love fest its been online. Everyone is all polite and thanking each other for posting their videos and pictures. It’s like the first week of the internet where everything is exciting and new.

    • June 13, 2009 7:51 pm

      YOU WANT TO BE SCARED!!!! have you seen him take a swing at the rodie while singing Be Aggressive:

      Look at 1:29

      Keep of his stage boy!!!!

      • Michael Bolger permalink
        June 13, 2009 8:12 pm

        It just occurred to me that thanks to Download we now have a live version of Take This Bottle.

        I was looking around on youtube for that song a few months ago and there weren’t any live recordings. Only copies from the album itself or other people covering the song.

  15. ThePetro permalink
    June 13, 2009 9:00 pm

    RE: What Gump has said.

    I’m actually very impressed with how the entire band is sounding after this many years and I’m also pleasantly surprised that Patton in his 40s can still pull off these songs. In my opinion, Patton’s vocals are better in some cases.

    I do think Patton looked a little subdued in Brixton. Although, at Download he put energy into almost every part that required it.

    I do think John’s guitar work is sometimes lacking. He’s a good guitarist and shouldn’t feel as though he can’t take the spotlight once in a while. I did notice that he excludes parts of songs and doesn’t add anything extra. I also don’t care for the new ending of Epic. I think that’s one of the best parts of the song with the heavy guitar riff that leads into the piano.

    All in all, I’m ecstatic about this reunion and have gotten a high out of watching them live all the way from California.

    Thanks to everyone else that has been kind enough to post audio clips, video clips, and reviews of the show.

    • Michael Bolger permalink
      June 14, 2009 12:39 am

      I have to agree that this tour has been a hell of a rewarding experience following online.

      The download show in particular, even if my stream was a bit choppy, was excellent to watch unfold at like 1PM California time. It didn’t cost me a dime, I had everything I needed within arms reach, the bathrooms were clean and no line to get in and now a day later there are soundboard quality mp3 of the set that I’m burning for friends.

      I’m not trying to compare the internet experience to the actual experience itself, that’s like comparing apples to hotdogs, but I have to say this has probably the most fun I’ve had following a tour online. Go technology!

Leave a comment